Payroll Review Information

Over the past year, MSWA established a dedicated People and Culture team. As part of its focus, the team worked with employees to proactively review all policies and practices.

A high priority was to conduct a review of payroll to ensure compliance with pay‐related obligations under Australian employment laws over the period of 1 July 2017 to 23 June 2023 (Payroll Review).

The Payroll Review was conducted with the input of employees and the assistance of independent advisors.

A range of areas were examined, including compliance with obligations arising under the Multiple Sclerosis Society of WA (Inc). Collective Agreement 2013 relating to annual leave, public holidays, overtime and minimum engagement hours.

This identified that a number of former and current employees were impacted by historic discrepancies and are eligible for gross back payment less applicable taxes, plus superannuation and compensatory interest.

All employees impacted received a personal communication on 6 December 2023. Former employees received further communication on 19 December 2023 advising them to provide updated details to ensure prompt payment.

Please click the button below and complete the Former Employee Verification form to allow us to make payments to you, addressing any historical discrepancies.

All information collected through this process is covered by MSWA’s privacy policy and will only be used for the purpose of reimbursing impacted employees. The data will not be retained once this purpose is served.

How do I find out if my pay was affected?

All impacted employees were provided with a personalised letter detailing their reimbursement, including interest and/or leave adjustments, on 6 December 2023 via email or post in circumstances where an email address was not available.

If you are unsure, you can contact our dedicated hotline 08 6154 5000 or mailbox via payroll.enquiry@mswa.org.au.

details

As a former employee, when will I get paid?

To ensure you are paid promptly, we require former employees to provide updated tax, super and bank account details via the forms located on this webpage. The sooner this information is provided, the faster your payment will be processed. Payments will be made in batches according to the timeline below. Please see the left hand column for detail supply cut off dates and the corresponding payment date on the right hand column. A notification will be sent ahead of payment as confirmation.

Payroll table

The payroll review looked at the period from 1 July 2017 to 23 June 2023. There is a secondary process now underway looking at the period of 24 June 2023 to 23 December 2023 when the payroll systems will be fixed. Depending on when you departed MSWA, you could be eligible for a secondary payment in March 2024. Further information will be provided in due course in this instance.

details

Is Fair Work aware of this issue?

We are pro-actively communicating with Fair Work to ensure that this issue is resolved as quickly as possible.

details

Will this have tax implications for those affected?

This will depend on your individual situation. We encourage you to seek advice from a tax accountant for personalised advice and provide a copy of the letter received from MSWA with your back payment details when you submit your tax return.

You can also visit the Australian Tax Office website here for further information.

details

How was this discrepancy identified?

Over the past year, MSWA established a dedicated People and Culture team. As part of its focus, the team worked with employees to proactively review all policies and practices.

A high priority was to conduct a review of payroll to ensure compliance with pay‐related obligations under Australian employment laws over the period of 1 July 2017 to 23 June 2023 (Payroll Review).

The Payroll Review was conducted with the input of employees and the assistance of independent advisors.

details

I’m having issues filling out the form, how can I get help?

Please email People and Culture at payroll.enquiry@mswa.org.au or call our dedicated hotline on 08 6154 5000 for assistance.

details

Why do I need to provide this information?

This information is essential to ensure you are paid your correct entitlements as outlined in your personalised letter, including superannuation and interest accrued.

details

As a former employee, will my leave adjustment be paid as a cash amount?

Yes, as leave is not applicable to you as a former employee, this will be paid to you in cash.

details

If you have any questions about this process or need further support, please email People and Culture at payroll.enquiry@mswa.org.au or call our dedicated hotline on 08 6154 5000.